HomeMost CommentedNitin Gadkari, Shivraj Singh Chouhan out of key BJP bodies; BS Yediyurappa,...

Nitin Gadkari, Shivraj Singh Chouhan out of key BJP bodies; BS Yediyurappa, Devendra Fadnavis in

NEW DELHI: BJP on Wednesday dropped two party seniors — former party chief and currently Union transport minister Nitin Gadkari and Madhya Pradesh CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan — from the parliamentary board and brought in new faces, mirroring its current priorities and the focus on expansion in both social and geographical terms.
The new inclusions include former Karnataka CM B S Yediyurappa, the veteran leader of the politically crucial Lingayats; Union shipping minister and former Assam CM Sarbananda Sonowal, first tribal from the northeast to be appointed to the top decision-making body; National Commission for Minorities chairman Iqbal Singh Lalpura, first Sikh to have made it; Sudha Yadav, the wife of a Kargil martyr; K Laxman, the head of the party's OBC unit who belongs to Telangana; and Satyanarayan Jatiya, a known Dalit face from Madhya Pradesh.
The recast, effected by party chief J P Nadda, has taken the total strength of the parliamentary board to 11 and is marked by an increase in the number of persons representing the "reserved" categories in relation to those from sections which are not eligible for quota.

Don't miss

Related news